About Neverwinter

Release Date
Jun 20, 2013
Cryptic Studios
Perfect World Entertainment
Country of Origin
United States

Neverwinter Guides

New Player Guides
Published on February 26, 2020    Updated on July 26, 2020

Neverwinter Classes - Guide for New Players

Neverwinter offers 8 different classes to choose from, each with an additional 2 paragon paths to decide their role in gameplay. Take a look at this short guide!

5 min    Views

Neverwinter classes follow the classic MMORPG recipe, and quite succesfully! There are 8 classes, and each one can choose from two separate “Paragon Paths” upon reaching level 30 (commonly known as Skill Trees), that will ultimately decide their role in fights. Each path offers a completely different set of skills & abilities, and you can swap between them in your loadouts.

Rogues, Wizards & Rangers focus solely on DPS, Barbarians & Fighters can DPS or Tank, Clerics & Warlocks can DPS or Heal, and finally – true to their purpose – Paladins can either Heal or Tank!

Before deciding your main class, make sure to look at Neverwinter’s racial passives as well, so that you can rest assured you have made the best combination for your needs & playstyle!


Rogue (Wood Elf Male), Neverwinter Class

Rogue Lore: The rogue is a master of stealth who strikes from the shadows with deadly precision. Rogues are athletic and nimble fighters who outmaneuver their foes before cutting them down to size.


Rogues specialize in dealing damage.

Whisperknife (Rogue Paragon Path)

Whisperknife Role: DPS
Whisperknife Description:
Become a master of throwing knives and become deadly even at a distance.

Assassin (Rogue Paragon Path)

Assassin Role: DPS
Assassin Description:
Become as a shadow, an agent of death who strikes with swift precision.


Cleric (Dwarf Male), Neverwinter Class

Cleric Lore: The cleric draws upon the divinity of their god or goddess to heal wounds and smite foes. The cleric ensures their companions make it through even the most harrowing encounters alive.


Upon reaching level 30 clerics may specialize in either healing or dealing damage.

Arbiter (Cleric Paragon Path)

Arbiter Role: DPS
Arbiter Description:
Become a divine instrument of your god, striking down all those who oppose the light.

Devout (Cleric Paragon Path)

Devout Role: Healer
Devout Description:
Focus on the healing arts, vowing to place the lives of others before yourself.


Wizard (Drow Male), Neverwinter Class

Wizard Lore: The wizard is a spellcaster whose power is rooted in study of the arcane. To a wizard, knowledge provides the means to summon forth weapons of ice and roiling thunderstorms, or to simply disintegrate enemies with pure arcane power.


Wizards specialize in dealing damage.

Thaumaturge (Wizard Paragon Path)

Thaumaturge Role: DPS
Thaumaturge Description:
Focus your studies on the elements, becoming a master of fire, ice, and destruction.

Arcanist (Wizard Paragon Path)

Arcanist Role: DPS
Arcanist Description:
Become a master of the arcane who unlocks the mysteries of the world and unleashes them upon their foes.


Rogue (Drow Female), Neverwinter Class

Ranger Lore: The ranged is a worldwide wanderer versed in archery and melee combat. Rangers unleash a hail of arrows on foes from afar before closing the gap and finishing them off with close range attacks.


Rangers specialize in dealing damage.

Warden (Ranger Paragon Path)

Warden Role: DPS
Warden Description:
Become a warden of the wood, focusing on nature magic as well as mixing close ranged and bow techniques.

Hunter (Ranger Paragon Path)

Hunter Role: DPS
Hunter Description:
Focus your training on dispatching foes from afar, become a deadly hunter who always gets their mark.


Warlock (Tiefling Female), Neverwinter Class

Warlock Lore: The warlock is a spellcaster who draws power from a pact forged with an eldritch being. Warlocks weave curses and destructive magics and can even drain the life force of their foes.


Upon reaching level 30 warlocks may specialize in either dealing damage or healing.

Hellbringer (Warlock Paragon Path)

Hellbringer Role: DPS
Hellbringer Description:
Become as a harbinger of destruction who strikes down foes with hexes and hellfire.

Soulweaver (Warlock Paragon Path)

Soulweaver Role: Healer
Soulweaver Description:
Focus on the art of manipulating the very fabric of souls, ripping the lifeforce out of the enemy to restore your own.


Paladin (Sun Elf Female), Neverwinter Class

Paladin Lore: The paladin is a righteous defender of the innocent, a holy knight devoted to the pursuit of justice. The paladin draws upon their faith, wielding divine magics to heal allies and crush the forces of darkness.


Upon reaching level 30 paladins may specialize in either tanking or healing.

Oathkeeper (Paladin Paragon Path)

Oathkeeper Role: Healer
Oathkeeper Description:
Devote yourself to a path of healing, wielding blessed light to cure the sick and the weak.

Justicar (Paladin Paragon Path)

Justicar Role: Tank
Justicar Description:
Become a resplendent knight and a defender of all things good and just.


Barbarian (Half-Orc Male), Neverwinter Class

Barbarian Lore: The barbarian is an unstoppable warrior skilled with heavy weapons. Some barbarians hail from savage lands but all embrace their inner beast to become raging hurricanes on the battlefield.


Upon reaching level 30 barbarians may specialize in either dealing damage or tanking.

Sentinel (Barbarian Paragon Path)

Sentinel Role: Tank
Sentinel Description:
Become an unstoppable force dedicated to the preservation of your allies.

Blademaster (Barbarian Paragon Path)

Blademaster Role: DPS
Blademaster Description:
Give into your rage and become the very embodiment of fury and steel.


Fighter (Human Male), Neverwinter Class

Fighter Lore: The fighter is a warrior who places themselves in harm’s way to protect their allies. Sword in hand and shield held steady, the fighter shrugs off devastating attacks and retaliates with a vengeance.


Upon reaching level 30 fighters may specialize in either tanking or dealing damage.

Vanguard (Fighter Paragon Path)

Vanguard Role: Tank
Vanguard Description:
Become a stalwart defender of the weak who holds fast in the face of deadly foes.

Dreadnought (Fighter Paragon Path)

Dreadnought Role: DPS
Dreadnought Description:
Give in to the burning desire to take vengeance on your foes.

Babalon, Mother of Abominations

16-hours / day in front of the screen entrepreneur, of which 6+ are spent on gaming. MMOs, CCGs, RPGs and many more, Steam-addict & achievement-w***e. Currently wasting life on BDO & Gacha Games.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Engage on Social Media Get Your S**t on Amazon Get Your Games on Humble Bundle Donate through PayPal
Send this to a friend